The Renewable Energy Materials Research Science and Engineering Center1 has made a research mission of identifying, launching, and advancing innovative research directions in sustainable materials for renewable energy, meeting its human resource mission of educating the next generation of renewable energy professionals, creating outreach programs to inform the public about the potential of renewable energy, and promoting diversity among faculty, research associates, staff, students, and future students.

The Center harnesses the vibrant energy vision of Colorado School of Mines, the extensive research resources of the nearby National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)2, and the growing national interest to advance the solar, fuel cell and renewable energy technologies and research. The Center integrates cutting-edge basic research with education and outreach, into a powerful interdisciplinary mix to drive new research frontiers. Of particular interest are renewable energy technologies utilizing earth-abundant and sustainable materials.

1 REMRSEC is funded under a cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation through the MRSEC program in the Division of Materials Research (DMR-0820518)

2 NREL is the primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development for the U.S. Department of Energy. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC, comprised of the Midwest Research Institute, Battelle Memorial Institute, CU-Boulder, CSU, Colorado School of Mines, MIT and Stanford. For more information visit

INSIDE REMRSEC: Advancing the Frontiers of Renewable Energy Materials Research


REMRSEC Announces Travel Fellowship Winners


April 17, 2018  - REMRSEC will again sponsor several Colorado School of Mines graduate students for a valuable opportunity to travel to Italy for the “Materials for Energy and Sustainability” summer school, put on by the Etorre Majorana Foundation and the European Center for Scientific Culture.  This is the 6th edition of the International School's "Materials for Energy and Sustainability," and will take place July 7th-12th, 2018 in the Sicilian city of Erice. The School features important topics in renewable energy materials, with about 20 outstanding international experts providing lectures. The series is complimented by student activities and interactions. Participants will have a week of full immersion into the world of renewable energies in the wonderful, timeless, city of Erice.

Each student is expected to provide a presentation to the REMRSEC executive committee as well as a seminar to Mines’ graduate students on their summer school experience during the Fall 2018 semester. 

Congratulations to the winners: Jolie Lucero (PhD candidate, Chemical Engineering), Valerie Jacobson (PhD candidate, Materials Science), Jake Huang (MS candidate, Materials Science), Eric B. Jones (PhD candidate, Applied Physics), Felix Therrien (PhD candidate, Applied Physics).

Visit here for more details on the summer school:


April 17, 2018 - Winners of the 2018 REMRSEC Travel Fellowship announced! Scroll down the homepage for details.

April 3, 2018 - All positions for REMRSEC's 2018 REU program are filled. Thank you to all of our applicants!

On November 17, 2017, Ben Geller, our 2017 Research Experience for Teachers (RET) participant, will present at the Colorado Science Conference. His topic is "Batteries: From Cell Phones to Cars and Tiny Houses, Exploring the Life Cycle of Batteries". Ben is currently a science teacher for Jefferson County Public Schools.

November 3, 2017, Renewable Energy REU Student, Rileigh Casebolt, Won First Prize at 2017 AIChE Student Poster Competition. Releigh is a senior, majoring in Chemical Engineering at Bucknell University. See full story.

October 4, 2017 - Corinne Packard awarded $900,000 National Science Foundation grant to purchase a time-of-flight ion mass spectrometer (TOF-SIMS). See full story.

New REMRSEC facility use rates

Facilities use fee structure begins July 1, 2017. See Facilities page for information.

REMRSEC funds renewable energy materials research     May 10, 2017 - Nine faculty members and two doctoral students receive awards. See full article.

February 21, 2017 - REMRSEC external advisory board member and MIT Professor Emerita Mildred Dresselhaus, dies at age 86. Read the full story from MIT News.

January 31, 2017 - Corinne Packard receives AIME Robert Lansing Hardy Award, given annually to a younger member of TMS who has shown exceptional promise for a successful career.

Carolyn Koh February 7, 2017 - Carolyn Koh recognized for her service on Secretary of Energy Advisory Board's Task Force on Methane Hydrates.

REMRSEC student and Physics PhD candidate Grant Klafehn will be the student speaker at the Fall 2016 Commencement for graduate students.

Craig TaylorOctober 10, 2016 - Former REMRSEC Director P. Craig Taylor recognized for research, leadership, mentorship during retirement celebration

Chemistry Professor Ryan Richards has been named interim director of REMRSEC, and Chemical and Biological Engineering Professor Carolyn Koh has been named interm co-director, both effective July 1, 2016

Adele TamboliREMRSEC 'alumna' and Physics Research Assistant Professor Adele Tamboli receives award from Energy Department Early Career Research Program

Inside cover of Physical Chemistry Chemical PhsyicsMines' Lakshmi Krishna, Eric Toberer, Carolyn Koh, and Mark Maupin among authors of research featured on inside cover of Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics: "Dynamic free energy surfaces for sodium diffusion in type II silicon clathrates"

Eric TobererAssistant Professor of Physics Eric Toberer has received an NSF CAREER Award for research that could ultimately yield the next generation of thermoelectric materials.