The Renewable Energy Materials Research Science and Engineering Center1 has made substantial progress in its research mission of identifying, launching, and advancing innovative research directions in renewable energy materials science, meeting its human resource mission of educating the next generation of renewable energy professionals, creating outreach programs to inform the public about the potential of renewable energy, and promoting diversity among faculty, research associates, staff, students, and future students.

The Center harnesses the vibrant energy vision of the Colorado School of Mines, the extensive research resources of the nearby National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)2, and the growing national interest to advance the solar, fuel cell and renewable energy technologies and research. The Center integrates cutting edge basic research with education and outreach, into a powerful interdisciplinary mix to drive new research frontiers. It has identified two promising research directions—Group IV quantum dot nanostructures for future generation solar cell applications, and next generation ionic conducting membranes for battery, fuel cell, and other applications. The Center’s Seed Program has been especially successful in exploring high-risk, high-payoff innovative research that can be integrated within the Center’s Interdisciplinary Research Groups (IRGs) or translated to independent funding.

The REMRSEC Facilities program has increased in breadth and depth, with significant advances in its Characterization Laboratory, Semiconductor Processing Laboratory, Synthesis Laboratory, Clean Room, and associated Atom Probe Development Laboratory. The technical staff of the Center, CSM, and NREL have been raised with two Center hires that are joint with NREL, establishing a paradigm for leveraging cooperation and diversity. In three short years, the Center converted a vision for renewable energy into a vibrant and successful organization that engages NREL, CSM, the student body and the public in addressing a national priority, developing new materials for sustainable energy for the future.

1 REMRSEC is funded under a cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation through the MRSEC program in the Division of Materials Research (DMR-0820518)

2 NREL is the primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development for the U.S. Department of Energy. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC, comprised of the Midwest Research Institute, Battelle Memorial Institute, CU-Boulder, CSU, Colorado School of Mines, MIT and Stanford. For more information visit

INSIDE REMRSEC: Advancing the Frontiers of Renewable Energy Materials Research

2016 Honors & Awards

Carolyn Koh received the Dean's Excellence Award at the 2016 Faculty Forum

Andrew Herring received the ENFL Distinguished Service Award from the American Chemical Society

Eric Toberer won an NSF CAREER Award

P. Craig Taylor received the CASE Connector Award from the College of Applied Science and Engineering

Jeff Squier received the CASE Connector Award from the College of Applied Science and Engineering

Alan Sellinger received tenure

Chuck Stone was named outstanding faculty in physics by graduating seniors

David Ginley was added to the Chemistry Department Wall of Fame


Craig TaylorFormer REMRSEC Director P. Craig Taylor recognized for research, leadership, mentorship during retirement celebration

Chemistry Professor Ryan Richards has been named interim director of REMRSEC, and Chemical and Biological Engineering Professor Carolyn Koh has been named interm co-director, both effective July 1, 2016

Adele TamboliREMRSEC 'alumna' and Physics Research Assistant Professor Adele Tamboli receives award from Energy Department Early Career Research Program

Inside cover of Physical Chemistry Chemical PhsyicsMines' Lakshmi Krishna, Eric Toberer, Carolyn Koh, and Mark Maupin among authors of research featured on inside cover of Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics: "Dynamic free energy surfaces for sodium diffusion in type II silicon clathrates"

Eric TobererAssistant Professor of Physics Eric Toberer has received an NSF CAREER Award for research that could ultimately yield the next generation of thermoelectric materials.

Ryan O'HayreProfessor Ryan O'Hayre (MME) receives proof-of-concept grant from Colorado Office of Economic Trade and Development to scale up high-performance ceramic fuel cells.

View photos from the International Conference on Exotic Forms of Silicon, organized by REMRSEC and held at Colorado School of Mines July 15 to 17, 2015.

REU poster session winnersView photos from the 2015 edition of the Research Experiences for Undergraduates program run by REMRSEC: REMRSEC kicks off REU 2015 | Joint Banquet | Poster Session and Luncheon

Ryan O'HayreResearch led by Professor Ryan O'Hayre (MME) into the development of affordable and efficient ceramic fuel cells that could power homes has been published in Science magazine.